Spring Sports Tryouts

Below is the information about our spring sports. For more information, please reach out to the contact listed for each sport. Prep student-athletes trying out for a spring sport must have a PIAA physical form completed on the first day. No one will be able to participate in any sport, even tryouts, without this form. Please note: If you participated or tried out for a fall or winter sport, you will only need to fill out Section 7 of the form.

Student-athletes involved in contact/collision sports will be required to have a baseline concussion test (ImPact) in addition to the physical. Students can sign up outside of the trainers office.

Questions on medical clearance requirements should be directed to the Prep Athletic Training staff: Jon Cartwright at jcartwright@sjprep.org.


BASEBALL (Coach Anthony Valucci, avalucci@sjprep.org)

Tryouts for sophomores, juniors and seniors will take place on March 2-5, with locations to be determined (due to weather). Tryout Schedule will be emailed on Monday, 2/24 to all who have contacted Coach Valucci.

Freshmen Baseball tryouts will take place March 2-8 locations to be determined (due to weather). Tryout Schedule will be emailed on Monday, 2/24 to all who have contacted Coach Valucci.

CREW (Coach John Fife '98, jfife@sjprep.org)

Freshmen Crew practices are ongoing. Students who are currently participating in winter sports or who are trying out for another spring sport may try out after their winter season or other spring tryout. No prior experience is required, all freshman rowers are taught as if they have never rowed before. Contact Freshman Coach Keanan Clark '09 (keanan.clark@gmail.com) with any questions.

LACROSSE (Coach Dan Keating, dkeating@sjprep.org)

Tryouts for lacrosse will be held at Brady Field from March 2-4, weather permitting. Both JV and Varsity teams will be determined at the conclusion of tryouts. Bus transportation will be provided for all students trying out. Departing time from SJP will be at 2:45 p.m. and bus transportation will pick up at 4:30 p.m. from Brady. If there are any questions, please email Coach Keating.

OUTDOOR TRACK AND FIELD (Coach Curt Cockenberg ’71, track@sjprep.org)

There are no tryouts for track as there are no cuts. Practices will start in March. Check the Track website page or listen to the announcements for further details.

RUGBY (Coach Tom Dugan '78, tmdugan10@gmail.com)

Rugby is a collision sport played at various high schools across the state and country. Additionally, most universities have Rugby teams, and players coming out of the Prep program are well prepared to step into Collegiate Rugby. At the Prep, Rugby is a competitive program for any player who wishes to commit to playing. There are no "try-outs" per se though players must be committed to an aggressive, full-contact sport. Each year, the team will travel either within the USA or internationally. Spring Rugby practices are currently underway so if you are interested in playing Prep Rugby, please see Team Moderator/Assistant Coach Brian McCloskey '91 (bmccloskey@sjprep.org) located in the Admissions Office.

TENNIS (Coach Bob Boyle '87, bboyle@sjprep.org)

Tryouts will take place on March 2-6 at the Chamounix Tennis Courts in Fairmount Park. Buses will be provided. For more information, please listen to morning announcements. Any questions, please contact Head Coach Bob Boyle or Assistant Coach Joe Boyle at jboyle@sjprep.org.

ULTIMATE FRISBEE (Coach Paul McCabe '80, ultimate@sjprep.org)

There are no tryouts for Ultimate Frisbee. All are welcome to participate. Please contact Coach McCabe to be added to the email list regarding practices and games. There will be a meeting in late February with practices to begin in March.

VOLLEYBALL (Coach Audra Brady, abrady@sjprep.org)

Tryouts will be March 2-6 from 2:45-5 p.m. in the Multi-Purpose Room. Those interested in playing volleyball are encouraged to attend preseason workouts Tuesdays and Thursdays after school and Saturdays 9-11 a.m. Any questions, please contact Coach Brady.

St. Joseph's Preparatory School
1733 West Girard Avenue Philadelphia, PA 19130
tel: 215.978.1950
fax: 215.765.1710
powered by finalsite